Why become a member? ×

Minimum viable wattage

hrnn1234

I'm on a quest to find out what's the smallest usable amp.

I'm relatively new to bass, I've only been playing for the last couple of years. I've played drums several years in different bands, and guitar before that, but bass specific gear is just now starting to demystify. Using the internet as the source of information has already taught me the expensive lesson that not everything is as significant as people say online.

Years have passed and today speakers are much more efficient. There is no intrinsic need for an 8x10 if you need volume. Same goes for amps. You may prefer one sound over the other, but class D amps are loud and light with no compare.

The other thing is where I get to use my gear. I live and play in Vienna, Austria. Most of my gigs here so far have been in pubs with PA support. The one time we played a massive stage there was already a backline available. So far I never had to bring my cab to a gig although I bought a "light" 2x12 with that purpose. I only take my amp because it fits in the pedalboard (MB200 is the best thing ever) and I prefer to use that as a DI as whatever they have on the venue.

So this leaves the practice room to be the only place my rig gets to be used. And only turning the knob up until 9 o'clock, otherwise is too loud.

I'm in contact with a guy selling an Ampeg BA110, tiny "practice" amp, that according to someone in talkbass is "super loud", even for small church gigs. The thing is 35Watts, so I'm likely going too low, but the curiosity took the best of me. And for 30€ is a fun experiment.

Even trying to future proof this extreme concept I can see myself using an amp like this on stage just for monitoring purposes. After experiencing the venues around here a bit, I really see no point in going much bigger than this.

Yes, headroom. Yes, I can't turn it up to 11 and expect it to sound/behave the same. I'll let you know how this goes.