Why become a member? ×

Will fretless ever make a comeback?

julesb

I only played fretless for 6-7 years but I haven't owned one for over ten years. I feel like I'm letting the side down now. :/

Never played a Paul Young cover.

Oh actually I had a fretless Stingray a few years back but shifted it quite quickly - never got on with Stingrays. Didn't sound that great either.

[quote name='blue' timestamp='1491869342' post='3276067']

Makes sense to me.

Now that I think about it I think Paul Young's recording of Daryl Hall's "Everytime You Go Away" employs a fretless bass guitar and it sounds awesome.

Blue
[/quote]

Indeed it does, I've been after a fretless Stingray for a while now since seeing this!

http://youtu.be/HnnewhuLuj8

Also check out some Pearl Jam:

http://youtu.be/V3w7ixSNG_c

[quote name='Grangur' timestamp='1491817076' post='3275506']
They'll be thinking more about their own sound in the mix.
[/quote]

This 100%
I've been rehearsing weekly with a band for 4 months now , one week I take a fretted P bass , the next I take a fret less P-bass .

No one has commented , to be honest no-one seems to have even noticed the difference in the tone or the nuances of the fret less .

I do have to say that the fretted bass is the better weapon in the battle of the "volume wars " with the guitarist's .

On a slightly more recent vibe, maybe it's high time for a resurgence of the once mighty Korg M1...?

Italian Dance Piano Sound, anyone...?

Aaaaanyway, back on topic. Sir Blue, those cool sounding bass line on Paul Young records was a guy called Pino Palladino. I don't know if you already knew (t)hat, but I guess we can all (perhaps incorrectly) assume a level of prior knowledge. :)

Edited by Tonteee

I didn't realise Jack Bruce was using one until I saw the clips on t'telly. It's already been said, the eighties coloured the public perception of what fretless was supposed to sound like. The great "mwah" is what does it, in my humble bumble.