Why become a member? ×

Gauging string gauges and other acoustic bass problems...

Powertripper

Hello everyone!

I've recently acquired my first electro-acoustic bass, a lovely Takamine EG512. It's in mint condish although the guy who sold it to me, though having kept it pristine, never really played it, and the strings are old and scuzzy. The action is also way off the mark higher up the neck, but I'll mostly be using this for acousticy-folk stuff, just doing typical lower end basslines, so I'm not too fussed.

I'm eager to change the strings but have no idea what gauge is on there, so I was just going to slap on some 105's which I use on my electric, will this be okay do you think? I know it's a broad question but I've zero experience with acoustic.

Additionally, what are my options for getting the action set right? If I was ever reluctant to adjust the truss rod on my electrics, this is another level that I don't want to risk the bass for, is it something a standard guitar repair guy may be able to fix?

Many thanks,
H.

My acoustic came with rounds on it. I tried the "made for acoustic " bronze strings but found them far too noisy and scratchy. Have had a set of old tape wounds on happily now for several years.
I can't help with the action though.

Don't be afraid of adjusting the trus rod. Plenty of vids on Youtube to tell you what to do. Also have a look across the flat of the face of the bass. If there is a rise around the bridge area you might have problems. That's a luthier job to sort and might be expensive. If it's flat then maybe just a tweak of the trus rod might work.

Regarding strings, I've found the best ones for my Washburn AB20 are Elites bronze,
which I think are 40-60-80-100 gauges. Seem to last a good while, and stay a bit zingy
too if that's what you want.
Fender bronzewounds are okay too, similar gauges I think but for me go off a bit sooner.
Cheaper than the Elites though, so you pays yer money etc.