Why become a member? ×

Anyone with any experience of half rounds on a fretless?

Marc S

As per the title really....
I only play fretless occasionally. And I've no experience of half round strings anyway
But I was just wondering whether half round strings would wear the fingerboard on a fretless bass, as much as round wounds can? Has anyone fitted half rounds to their freltess? What do you think?

Any info appreciated. Ta :)

Edited by Marc S

I've used half wounds on fretless for years. Great tone, most of the brightness of a round but the smoothness of a flat. They are a bit sticky to begin with but the more you play them that goes away. They won't harm the fingerboard either. D'Addarios might be best at the moment. I have always used Status halfs but they are not available at the moment and no sign if they will ever return. You could also consider Labella 760FS or D'addario chromes. Flat wound strings but with a tone to die for, much brighter than a traditional stair rod flat and the flexibility of a round.

Just my experience and I'm sure others will chime in with rounds not damaging fingerboards. That's not my experience.

I'm a long time user of the Status half-rounds and just bought a fretless that came with a new set of Chromes on and have to say they are very similar! Tons of growling mwah from these.

Another option is to try tapewounds. I have just ordered a set of La Bella white nylons from bass direct, the copper variant. They use transparent nylon instead of black and have a much brighter sound; the copper ones have a copper layer in there as well for a warmer sound and the gold ones are supposed to be somewhere in the middle. I searched for reviews of these of Talkbass and there was a guy that tried all 3 and rated the coppers as the best by far, so thought I'd give them a whirl!

Edited by dannybuoy

Thanks for your thoughts BassBus and geoffbyrne
I'm not really huge fan of flats - despite also playing Double Bass