Why become a member? ×

Modes

keva

Hi,

Sorry if this is an old chestnut but I am a newbie.

I understand the theory of modes and scales but really don't know how to actually use them in my playing, e.g. for a given set of chords.

Help and examples very much appreciated please.

Regards
Kev

Modes are a red herring for 99% of the music out there. Think major and minor scales for now.

The most appropriate notes to play under (in) a chord is a chord tone... you can go a long, long way just playing the root. Concentrate on playing the root on strong beats of the bar... then bring in thirds and fifths. Then you can think about joining them up with notes that fall between the chord tones.

Listen to classic basslines and figure out what's going on on the basis of what I said above... go simple to begin with.

[quote name='dlloyd' timestamp='1495525338' post='3304375']
Modes are a red herring for 99% of the music out there. Think major and minor scales for now.

The most appropriate notes to play under (in) a chord is a chord tone... you can go a long, long way just playing the root. Concentrate on playing the root on strong beats of the bar... then bring in thirds and fifths. Then you can think about joining them up with notes that fall between the chord tones.

Listen to classic basslines and figure out what's going on on the basis of what I said above... go simple to begin with.
[/quote]

This.

[quote name='keva' timestamp='1495453076' post='3303785']
I understand the theory of modes and scales but really don't know how to actually use them in my playing, e.g. for a given set of chords.

Help and examples very much appreciated please.
[/quote]

Hi Kev,

Here's a quick primer/recap on chord/scale relationships. For the sake of simplicity I'll keep to major harmony in this post as minor harmony can get a little more complex.

Let's take C major, it contains these 7 notes:

C D E F G A B

[u][b]MODES[/b][/u]