Why become a member? ×

500w head and cab suggestions. Tech 21 VT 500?

TNLBass

Hi, I'm looking for some advice about upgrading my set-up. I currently use an Ashdown mag 300w 210 combo with a mag 115 deep cab. I'm looking to get a 500w head and have read good things about the Tech21 VT 500 head and am interested in getting an ampeg style tone without spending big money. Can anyone suggest a cab/cabs to pair with this head. I quite fancy a 410 or maybe a 210 to go with my existing 115 cab. Would I need an 8ohm cab? The head is rated at 300w for 8ohms.
Any help or suggestions are welcome. This is my first post and I have been playing for about 5 years so have little experience other than my current set-up.

Thanks

Hi and welcome to Basschat! To help in responding to your Q, it would be useful to know:
- have you set your mind on the Tech21 VT 500 or are you open to other heads?
- what combined budget cap do you have in mind for your head plus cab?
- any restrictions on weight for your rig?
- what sort of music / band set up are you going to be using your rig for?

Edited by Al Krow

I'm open to suggestions and have been looking at a few heads including Ashdown ABM 500, PF 500, Fender Rumble 500, Tech 21, Ashdown RM500 and Hartke LH500
I've seen used Tech 21 for around £300 so I was looking at maybe £500-600 for the head and cab.
Weight wise I would prefer to just take one cab and a smaller head or two smaller/lighter cabs as my combo and extension at the moment are pretty heavy.. I would consider bigger cabs if they have handles/castors.
My band plays originals that are indie/dance and a range of covers from hip-hop, dance to indie rock and ska. (Blur, clash, specials, faithless, libertines, charlatans, happy mondays, gorillaz, tribe called quest, the jam, metronomy)
I need a versatile amp where I can play clean or change up the tone to add a bit of grit or make it a more dub bass sound.