Why become a member? ×

Fender Rumble 60 at a rehearsal studio..... really??

markdavid

[quote name='cheddatom' timestamp='1497961584' post='3321624']
hmmm, I'm a drummer and I used to like to mic up the kick drum...
[/quote]

It's all a bit 'genre-dependant', of course. In my vein of predilection, it's the hi-hat that is most important to me; the bass drum is used mostly simply as punctuation, not the 'big beat'. Old-school swing style.
Of course, things change a little when 'Daddy Cool' is in the repertoire, or 'Highway To Hell'..! :lol:

[quote name='Monkey Steve' timestamp='1497956909' post='3321573']
Exactly, it makes no sense to me either, but I've been in two different bands with drummers who insist that the bass drum needs to be mic'd at all times (and to be clear, it's been in the studio and at pub gigs where we'd do our own sound, situations where he could have a say, not where an engineer is sorting it out). Not all drummers, but it was definitely a "thing" with the pair of them. And like you, I can't understand it...just thought I'd ask
[/quote]

I play drums in another band and If I play the BD hard, at a pub gig, the glasses shake on the bar. And thats with a 20" un miced full front head. There is no need to mic a kit at all for small gigs. For rehearsals I always drape my coat over the front head to keep the volume down. Drums can be loud, bloody loud If you play them hard, but If you have control you can play them very softly.

[quote name='cheddatom' timestamp='1497961584' post='3321624']