Why become a member? ×

Best freebie you've had?

SamPlaysBass

Not a great one by any means, but I did get a free T Shirt from EBS when the UK tech support firm they use didn't sort out a pedal I sent them for a recall.

Ashdown deserve a mention for me too - repaired an amp for me without charge (I only paid to get it there).

Musically I've had a couple of lucky blags. I won a Blackstar practice amp in a promo event at my local music shop in Leicester last year which was cool.

Even more impressively I won a place on a two-week summer school course at Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts back in 1998. It was an amazing experience - doubly so because I hadn't long finished university and would never have been able to afford to go.

I also got sent on a freebie holiday to Majorca back in 2002 when I was a trainee reporter on my local paper. Apparently I was reviewing the place but that amounted to about an hours work when I got home to Britain! Again me and the missus were poorly paid young journos at the time so jumped at the chance of a free holiday.

I also got to review Download 2010 as a journo too, which was a class weekend out, all in the name of work of course.

Makes up for all the times things haven't worked out for me I guess ha ha!

I bought a U.S. Masters fretless neck for one of my Masters basses. It was the only source for those basses, as they have a simple, but unique attachment method. When it came, it was lovely, but the side dots were in the wrong place, between, not on the fret position.
I pointed this out and they were very apologetic, and sent me a correctly made one (eventually, took ages!) But didn't require me to send the other back, which was nice. The bad neck now wears Luminlay side inlays in the correct position....

A few years ago on this very forum I posted a wanted ad for a Trace GP12SMX head.