Why become a member? ×

Customised ear plugs- ACS vs Pro Guard

Trueno

I've been using ACS for just over 10 years and they have kept my damaged and ringing ears safe in that time, during some pretty loud and extensive gigging.

I'd be interested in anything that was better, but at nearly twice the price I'd need some serious convincing that Pro Guard was worth the extra.

Thinking about it (which I admit I should have done before I posted) it's not very likely that anyone will have tried both. Just seen another thread where most people with customised plugs have ACS. But the Pro Guard popped up first on a google search. I used to use Doctor Pro, which were quite good for cheapies. I assumed the real value of customised is the comfort and the fact they fill all the gaps... in addition to the fact the filters are supposed to attenuate all frequencies (maybe not quite, but closer than cheap plugs)

[quote name='Sibob' timestamp='1499617944' post='3332526']
Never heard of Pro Guard, another ACS user here!

Si
[/quote]

Yeh! It came up on bing search engine. At first I assumed it was the customised ones everyone uses on here. They are more expensive though... don't know if you get anything extra for your money.

https://www.proguarduk.co.uk/

Featuring the immortal paragraph:
[color=#616161]Now available from ProGuard an increasing selection of generic earplugs including our extremely popular Noizezz range, the Lin-Ear and Ultra Lin-Ear products designed for musicians, DJs, concertgoers and now available our new BikerPlugz and ShooterPlugz[/color]

Don't you just love crap marketing-speak when it's obsessed with the letter Z?

Guest gazzatriumph