Why become a member? ×

Hi from Derbyshire!

flaxholmelis

Hello there! Another newbie from Derbyshire. Been playing for a year now and also the wrong side of half a century - seems to be quite a few of us (hmm) 'late starters'. I started playing a Washburn Force 4 ABT with flatwounds and a few months ago went for a complete change with a Fender P-Bass with roundwounds. Finding that quite a challenge as it couldn't be more different to play than the Washburn, but it sounds great when I get the muting right. Would love to hear about events/goings on in the Derby area.

Good evening, flaxholmelis, and ...

[sharedmedia=core:attachments:167528]

Plenty to read and amuse you here, and lots to learn and share. 'Late starter', eh..? Maybe beyond youthful fugue, but maybe it's made up for in wisdom, no..? :D

Hi and welcome :)

There are a few of us Derby and District members here. I'm Duffield, Len_Derby is Allestree. Spondonbassed is, well, Spondon, Chris Sharman is Belper and, no doubt, there are probably many more. You'll find yourself in good company whatever your age, genre or ability level :)

Andy

Welcome sir...

I'm not from Derbyshire but like you [color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]I played a Washburn Force 4 ABT I thought they were quite good basses. I liked the neck profile and the balance - they don't seem to get much recognition these days....[/font][/color]

Welcome Flaxholmelis. Good to have another Derbyshire lad onboard. Now you've boosted our number I reckon we're only a prune short of a movement.

You been to any Open Mic nights yet?
[url="http://openmikefinder.com/UK/England/Derbyshire/"]Derbyshire Open Mike Nights - Open Mike Finder[/url]

Thanks for all your replies. Andyjr1515 you probably have an idea where I am from then.
I've been having lessons and had a chance to play with a band a couple of times when I was working away. Where do people around here go for jam sessions etc?