Why become a member? ×

P bass pickup.

tom1946

Thanks all for your comments, much appreciated. It seems to depend on the individual ear, I'm going a bit deaf these days :lol: maybe that's the problem.

Ok fitted the tonerider with a spare KiOgon (what does that name mean John?) loom that I had, I found it to be low on output, I had to up my amp gain and volume to get even a moderate sound from it.
The tone is fine, it has clear lows and highs but some of that may be down to John's tone pot. I'm no expert but I know what I like and POWWWEEERRR is one of them. Not that I use massive power but in my experience the more output there is, the better the sound.

Not a waste of money but I will be changing it, maybe a DP127 as recommended above.

Cut the messing about and get the DP127 - you will not regret it I'm sure. They p155 rings around the SDs IMHO. If you've found them both about the same price it's no contest :happy:

Edit: Ki pronounced key is Japanese for Yellow and Ogon is a single coloured Koi, so simply 'Yellow Koi'.
I have kept Koi since about 1975, when they were very few and far between in this country and the Yamabuki name taken from the Flower in Japan '[i][b]Kerria japonica'[/b][/i] (abbreviated to Ki), has always been my personal favourite Koi, almost impossible to find a perfect example.

It's been my nickname for years and the reg. no. on my car; KI0GON :)

[url="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kerria_japonica"]https://en.wikipedia...Kerria_japonica[/url]
[url="https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=yamabuki+ogon&client=firefox-b&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiXkcKd3uPVAhVDC8AKHYT3BLUQsAQIJQ&biw=1680&bih=917#imgrc=V4kobqYBCYfRYM:"]https://www.google.c...V4kobqYBCYfRYM:[/url]

Cheerz, John

Edited by KiOgon