Why become a member? ×

Beginner strings and set-up?

kristo

I'm looking to get my newly acquired (second-hand) double bass set up with some new strings to try and help with learning the instrument. I'm an absolute beginner and not really sure what would be best. I have found a local guy who sets up double basses and am now trying to decide on what strings would be best for me and how to ask for it to be set up. Currently the strings seem fairly high in tension and the action quite high.

I'm hoping to play blues, bluegrass and jazz pizzicato, and would appreciate any advice on a good starting string/setup for this. I've done a bit of searching on here and Innovation Silver Slaps have caught my eye. They seem like a good string for my style, but I'm not sure if they are good for a low action. Is a low action even a good idea???

I would appreciate any guidance from experienced players. Cheers.

[quote name='Grangur' timestamp='1504792059' post='3367349']
[url="http://basschat.co.uk/user/1545-bilbo/"]Bilbo[/url] lives in Lowestoft, I believe. He's a jazz DB player. If you don't get any answers here. I'm sure he'll be pleased to point you in the right direction
[/quote]

Thanks.

[quote name='jrixn1' timestamp='1504794507' post='3367373']
I have Silver Slaps with medium action, and they work well for the musical styles you mention. The low tension makes them quite easy to play (compared to steels).
[/quote]

That's good to hear, thanks.

When you start playing double bass, the string options are mind blowing compared to bass guitar!
As I started playing DB only a few years back - I recall my DB strings seemed incredibly high tension!

There are several options for lower tension strings. Spirocore Weichs are low tension for a metal string (because they have a synthetic core) Innovation also do a synthetic core, steel outer type string; Innovation Honeys