Ex-Barefaced users?

53 replies to this topic

Poll: Ex-Barefaced users (33 member(s) have cast votes)

Why did you switch from Barefaced cabs?

1. I didn't like the build quality. (4 votes [10.81%])

Percentage of vote: 10.81%

2. I didn't like the sound. (12 votes [32.43%])

Percentage of vote: 32.43%

3. I liked them, but I found something better (please comment below). (6 votes [16.22%])

Percentage of vote: 16.22%

4. I just fancied a change. (4 votes [10.81%])

Percentage of vote: 10.81%

5. The handles made me want to stab people. (2 votes [5.41%])

Percentage of vote: 5.41%

6. I tried other stuff but went back to BF. (9 votes [24.32%])

Percentage of vote: 24.32%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 JapanAxe

My other bass is a Precision.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,053 posts

Posted 08 September 2017 - 06:49 PM

I've been using Barefaced cabs for the last 5 years, having rocked an Ashdown rig for the preceding 10 years. My main motivation for the switch was the reduced weight, but I've been pretty happy with my Compact and Midget, used separately or together - a big improvement on the ABMs!

A recent online conversation with a well-respected BC member has caused me to wonder whether I should make a change in the cab department. My sensible self wants to lurk for cab bargains in the BC marketplace (I can always move them on if I end up hating them); the impulsive me wants to throw caution to the winds and order a £1,000 4-ohm cab.

So if you are a former BF user, please take my pitiful poll.

Notes
1. This is not an invitation to indulge in BF-hating.
2. If you have never gigged a BF cab, you should probably move along to another thread.
3. You are wasting your time recommending any cab with a tweeter in it.

Go!

Edited by JapanAxe, 08 September 2017 - 09:34 PM.

Bass Guitars | Fender Precision (USA 1973) | Fender Precision '63 AVRI (USA 2015) | Fender Mustang FSR (Japan 2016) | Kala U-bass