Why become a member? ×

Short scale for carpal tunnel?

samfin1991

Hey guys,

Wasn't really sure which thread this should go in, seems to be a mix of stuff, but anyway...
So I'm a drummer of about 15 years, but took up bass about a year ago for several reasons (mostly sick of expensive gear, no practise at home etc.) but most importantly because my wrists aren't what they used to be (self taught drummer resulting in poor technique that I fixed too late).
I bought a Thunderbird when I first started (I know, I know 😂) and for the first year or so didn't really have any trouble; however I'm now getting mega cramps in my fretting hand, especially when reaching for octaves and fifth notes with my little finger, to the point that my whole hand sometimes locks up.
I've learnt my lesson (literally) and had lessons since I started playing, and my tutor says my technique is fine, so I was wondering if a short-scale bass might be the answer, and if anyone else had had the same problem and found a solution? I would go and try one, but the nearest music shop is a loooong way to travel, and don't want to just buy one online then discover it makes no difference.
Thanks!

A good Osteopath may help, if you haven't tried yet. Mine checked out strap length/height of my bass as too low can cause wrist problems.
Also look at how your Thunderbird sits in relation to arm length for the 1st/lower frets on the bass. ie...Fender bass top horn strap button ends over the 12th fret area. Some modern basses over the 14th fret area.
Where does the Thunderbird top strap button sit, it could be 'pushing' the neck/lower fret area position away from your body and possibly straining your wrist to operate easily.

The problem with the Thunderbird is that, due to the body shape, the top strap button is around the 17th fret which (as mybass points out above) pushes the neck farther away from you - reaching those lower frets will be quite a stretch.