Why become a member? ×

Buying my first 5 string, advice?

benroch

Hi all,
I am a student and play 4 string bass, i have been playing for 5 years and am now needing to have the lower B string more, not to mention i just fancy a bit of a change...
I have a budget of up to about £750 but to be honest itll take me a while to get to that amount as i am only on £315 right now...
Any suggestions for good 5 string basses to play Rock and Jazz mainly? Been looking at fender style basses and at modern styles
probably looking second hand rather than new!
Thanks,
Ben

Edited by benroch

You will need to go and try as many 5-string basses as you can, and don't limit yourself to basses within your budget, because you will need to see if your £750 is going to be enough (IME it may not be unless you get very lucky).

Too many bassists buy a cheap 5-string and quickly get disillusioned with it because it simply isn't a very good bass. Unfortunately there is a lot more to making a good 5-string bass than taking an existing 4-string design, putting a wider neck, and an extra machine head on it. To get an articulate and pleasing sounding and feeling low B string construction and neck stiffness are far more important than they are on a 4-string bass.

Personally I wouldn't bother with anything with a bolt-on neck unless it has been made by either Mike Lull or Jens Ritter. Good through neck construction is the way to go. Also string type becomes a lot more critical when it comes to the low B-string. IMO the tension on the low B in a standard 5-string set is too low, so you need to experiment with different string types to find the one that best suits your bass.

Good luck!

Edited by BigRedX

[quote name='Hobbayne' timestamp='1505754352' post='3374058']
Have a look at the SUB Ray 5. Very good for the money, I used to have one it was well made and easy to play.
[url="https://www.guitar.co.uk/sterling-by-music-man-sub-ray5-walnut-satin"]https://www.guitar.c...y5-walnut-satin[/url]