Why become a member? ×

Misconceptions... or is it better on the floor?

anzoid

I've been playing bass for 27 years (or so...) and in that time have been through a range of combos, amps and cabs. The one thing in common - they've always stayed on the floor.

My current rig is two MB NY 12" cabs with a GK head, and it all sits on the floor. I'm starting to find that 90% of the time it's complete overkill for the stuff I'm doing. Even one cab and the amp is way over the top - gain never goes above about a quarter, same for the volume.

So, I'm thinking of trying one of the 2x8 type combos - either a TC BG250-208 or (if I'm lucky...) an MB MiniMark 802. If I sit either combo on the floor the sound will just about hit the back of my knees - is there anything wrong with putting the combo on a table, a chair or a dedicated stand? Will I lose some inherent bass-ness if the combo isn't on the floor?

I tried one 12" cab + amp on a chair at a small gig last week but the hall we were in was so awful that I don't know whether the terrible bass sound was due to the room, or the fact for the first time ever I put the rig off the floor. We were having problems with everything though so, I'm thinking it was the room...

Anyway, am I right in thinking (for perhaps too many years) that the only place for the bass rig is on the floor?

Always been a bit of debate about this on here - for me, I prefer the cab on the floor with the additional
bass coupling that often happens. ( I do realise though that the sound you hear isn't necessarily easiest
to monitor accurately when it's blasting the back of your legs.)