Why become a member? ×

real basic question on a Fender cab from a newbie

XoSo

Hi Guys,

I know this is probably a very basic question but I'm new to bass and in my previous guitar playing career have only ever had combo amps. A friend has very kindly donated an old Fender 4x10 cab to me - it's a bit of a monster but you don't look gift monsters in the mouth so I accepted it gratefully. I was thinking of maybe getting a little TC BH250 head to go with it (currently using a little vox pathfinder). Now, there is absolutely nothing on the back to tell me what the rating of the cab is other than a little plate that says Fender L082163. It's a closed cab but I suppose I could take the back off it to see what the speakers are. But what's causing me all sorts of newbie confusion is that there are two jack sockets on the back. Does that mean I need to plug two leads in to power all four speakers and what if the amp head only has one input? In your opinions without knowing any more than I've said do you think the cab would be suitable to run a little bass head through it (I'm learning so it will only be for low level practise). Also, at the moment I've got an old HH IC 100S power amp sitting around. It's a guitar amp, but could I get away with using it short term?

I think you're going to have to take the back off, as well as ohms you need to know the wattage it can handle, you don't even know if it's a Bass or Guitar cab, someone else has asked the same question, he thinks it's a guitar cab I think http://www.tdpri.com/threads/what-fender-cab-is-this.290047/
The two jacks are probably in and out for another cab but with the back off you could tell from the wiring