Why become a member? ×

TC Spark Mini - pop!

gs_triumph

Hi,
I just bought a used TC Spark Mini boost pedal.

There is fairly obvious pop when engaging it. Is that normal?

I was hoping to run it last in chain before the amp, but it would not be usable. The pop is less pronounced if I slot it in before my flanger.

Only other boost I've used is a Rodenberg LPD and that was silent.

Edited by gs_triumph

I've had no experience of the mini spark but I did have the full sized Spark Booster, and I still own a couple of other TCE pedals too, and the switches have all have dead silent when switching them on and off. It sounds like something is not quite right with the one you have bought, unfortunately. However, I'm no expert on electronics so I can't offer any insight as to what might be causing the issue.

[quote name='gs_triumph' timestamp='1508654778' post='3393510']
Thanks guys.

Sounds like this one may be faulty
[/quote]

Unfortunately so.
Are you able to contact the guy who you bought it from to see what he says?

If that doesn't get you anywhere, maybe start a thread in the repairs section to see if anyone there can help you out? For example, if it turns out to be a dodgy switch you might be able to replace it yourself.

Previous owner sez he never used it so didnt experience it doing that. Bought it new two years ago. Never even plugged it in. To be fair, it does look like it has never been touched. No glue marks, rubber feet still in box etc. Anyway, he wasnt for taking it back.

I'll be using at a rehearsal tonight so I'll see how it fairs in with the rest of the band. Easy to be picky in the house on your own. Not running it last makes difference. I'll see if it's tolerable. Only need it for one song along with the flanger so hopefully it won't be too obvious.

Pedal performed flawlessly tonight. Totally silent in switching off and on.

I was using same bass, same cables, my own head, same as I use at home, only difference is it's their cab.