Why become a member? ×

Can you read music?

funkysimon

Reading this & all the other reading threads have made me want to put a concerted effort into learning how to read this year, especially as I've been playing for 25 years. Fed up with being not being able to.

I won't be playing in a pit band any time soon but it would be nice to play all the stuff in my bass books :)

[quote name='iamthewalrus' post='857470' date='Jun 4 2010, 05:15 PM']I won't be playing in a pit band any time soon but it would be nice to play all the stuff in my bass books :)[/quote]

I think that is one of the most important aspects of this. It is a great way of maximising your practice time and getting you into the learning material andout the other side.

I used to have a rough idea of it when using cakewalk at college...

I seem to have developed a decent enough ear, to figure stuff out - so i've got very lazy.

I wish i could really sight read though...just to get more work.

Admire anybody who can.

If you don't need to read then learning to read wouldn't really be necessary but it never does any harm to add a few more strings to your bow. If you want your bass playing to pay your bills then its essential ...unless your in a band selling millions of records.
I do read but a lot of what I do doesn't require me to do so. Although I am considering doing the whole wedding/function band thing again so it would mean me not having to remember everything :)

• 1 month later...

[quote name='funkysimon' post='34811' date='Jul 20 2007, 05:15 PM']FACE! And the other good mnemonic for the treble clef,
Every Good Boy Deserves Fellatio

I can't think of a good one for the bass clef lines. George Bush Deserves F'kin Evisceration, maybe? Hmmm, bit political.[/quote]