Why become a member? ×

Can you read music?

funkysimon

How many of us basschatters can read music? I can just about stumble through, though I'm never certain I'm playing in the right octave, and I certainly wouldn't be able to sight-read a piece of music; usually I have to think long and hard about tied semi-quavers and dotted this-that-and-the-others. That said, I've not done any music grade exams, and I guess that's where a lot of this stuff is taught.

If you can read music, do you find you use the skill a lot? Do you think it's an important skill? To test a correlation, if you can read music, are you also the kind of person that never practices without a metronome?

I know the lengths of the different types of notes and the dots and have a rough idea of some of the notes on the stave (FACE) but apart from that I have little else knowledge. I haven't done any music grades and I'm only 17 so there's still time. I do think that it is quite a big advantage being able to use musical notation, however as I can't do it, I don't know what it would be like.

[quote name='Bullet-Rule' post='34807' date='Jul 20 2007, 05:09 PM']I know the lengths of the different types of notes and the dots and have a rough idea of some of the notes on the stave (FACE) but apart from that I have little else knowledge. I haven't done any music grades and I'm only 17 so there's still time. I do think that it is quite a big advantage being able to use musical notation, however as I can't do it, I don't know what it would be like.[/quote]

FACE! And the other good mnemonic for the treble clef,
Every Good Boy Deserves Fellatio

I can't think of a good one for the bass clef lines. George Bush Deserves F'kin Evisceration, maybe? Hmmm, bit political.

[quote name='funkysimon' post='34811' date='Jul 20 2007, 05:15 PM']FACE! And the other good mnemonic for the treble clef,
Every Good Boy Deserves Fellatio