Why become a member? ×

PA advice please

bassboy115

So i played a gig last night as a support act. We borrowed the bands PA. They used a power amp and a mixer linked to 2 speakers and a bass bin.

I was just wondering as my band will be looking at getting a PA (eventually) if getting a power amp and linking it to a mixer is a better option than just buying a standard PA head and linking that to a mixer?

Im presuming that a power mixer just provides power to the mixer. And the mixer does the levels?

Bear in mind im new to the world of PA's.

So what would be the better option and also how much could i get a decent mixer and power amp for?

thanks
Alex

I would get a simple mixer with balanced outputs and then get a couple of RCF powered speakers (300w).
Use this as more of a vocal, keyboard PA untill you have the funds to get 1 or 2 bass bins. If you want to get larger speakers eventually you can use the RCF's for monitors.
Should be able to get it all for under £1000 including cables and speaker stands.

I'm no expert but I've looked after the PA side of things for my band the past few years.

What you'll need depends on what is going to go through the front of house (FOH) speakers (vocals only? bass/guitar/keys? some drums too?) and whether you want to have monitors (either wedges or in-ear type) sending those sounds on-stage in some form.

I take it by "standard PA head" you mean something that looks a bit like a bass or guitar head but with several input channels that can be mixed and then amplified all from the one unit which then sends the signal to the FOH speakers.