Why become a member? ×

Advice needed, which head to buy?

Luther Blissett

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here, but I hope you can help me out on this one. :)

I have a used Trace Eliot 1048H cab from the mid nineties at home, and since I've grown more and more unsatisfied with the tone of my carlsbro stingray amp, I want to buy a new amp head for the trace eliot cab.

Price range is about 700€ max.

Now I wonder, which heads go with the Trace Eliot 1048H?

First, a small problem: somehow the specs got wiped from the backside of the box. So I don't know the RMS and Ohm from this cab. I know they have changed with the release of the new (gibson era) 1048H.
I believe my 1048H is 300 W rms and 8 Ohm. :huh: Can anyone verify that?

And then, these are the heads I'd like to try out:
Gallien & Krueger 700RB-II
Ashdown Mag 600
Markbass Little Mark II
and maybe also the Eden Nemesis 650 (if I can find one).

Or if I can find a used ampeg for under that price, I'll try it as well. (an svt III pro for example)?

Can anyone give me some advice? Does anyone have experience with any of these heads? Or can you recommend another Head I don't know about?

Oh, I play in a kind of experimental improv duo that plays alot with sound and structures. overall, I like a more of a warm sound to come out of my amp.

Thx!

Prepare for a barrage of people telling you what they had running with the mighty 1048H cab.

I used TE for a long time until they went tits up. Now I use a GK700RB II with Schroeder 1212L. the Trace 1048H is one hell of a cab. i don't own one only because I used to hate lifting the bugger. the sound is big as a house as is the weight but I used to use my 800RB with mine and it was the dogs.