Why become a member? ×

Teacher issues...

EOS650

Ok, I've taken lessons from my new teacher twice now. I have some issues with my teacher. I'm rather new at bass, but when I told him I do all of my scales etc.. at 40bpm he was suprised because I am able to play at 75 bpm. The lessons are 30min each at $25 a lesson (not sure how much that is in UK money), but still expensive. I did explain that starting out slow is important to get good soild (string buzz free) notes, but he wants to rush along. I can handle the work load, but I choose to do it at a slower pace because I know that being a good player is not being sloppy no matter how fast I'm able to go. I'm hitting about 75% of the time on the dot at 40 and plan on bumping up to 45 in the next 2 weeks.. Am I doing the right thing by going slow and moving up even though I am able to play at a faster speed? I want everything to sound as clear as possible. I know how important a good bass player is to a band....

Oh....does anyone know of any free online metronomes that use real drum sounds over the click?

Thanks!

When I had a few lessons a few years ago my bass teacher got me to play things at 60bpm, then work up 20bpm at a time to 180bpm. If I'd balls something up repeatedly at 60bpm, he'd take the metronome right back down to 40bpm.

It's good to make sure you get it right at a slower speed and then gradually raise the tempo. Always start with 40bpm if that's where you're comfortable. But don't be afraid to turn up the metronome when you've nailed that scale/song/lick/melody at 40bpm. See if you can get that scale/song/lick/melody 100% right at 40, then up to 60, then up to 80, then up to 100, then up to 120. Try it.

Well, you say you're hitting around 75% at 40bpm. So I'd say once you're getting as close to 100% as is reasonable.