Why become a member? ×

What kind of bass player are you?

andy67

Hi, I am 55 and have been an alcoholic for - sorry wrong site.

Hi, I am 55 and have been playing bass on and off for 40 years. I was playing in blues/rock bands in the '70's in Glasgow then London but gave it up when the 1st wife came along. I gave the synth a try in the '80's but soon went back to bass.

During the '90's I got back into live gigs with an Indie band who just miss out on a contract with a couple of labels when the singer/songwriter in the band got serious stage fright and couldn't cope with live gigs anymore. I left as i didn't want to be stuck indoors but love live playing.

Later in the '90's joined a tribute band for a laugh and stayed on for 5 years until love struck and I moved to The North West. At the moment I am doing gentle practise after 4 years of not playing due to arthritis. I am not good at practise for the sake of it but if I have a new project, I give 100% until I have it nailed. Love to get locked in with a drummer and jump about a bit. Have I rambled on too much?

Edited by Bassman Sam

It's interesting to see the number of people who rarely post anymore.

Right then........

I'm 30,pro and been playing electric since '96 and upright since 2000.
Played all over the place-UK,Europe,America- with various cover,tribute and original bands and people that you've never heard of
and people that you may have heard of.
I've got some chops and really enjoy soloing,even though the vast majority of gigs don't require it.I still play pretty busily though,
but as long as it's in the pocket and I keep getting hired,it's cool.I'm also pretty animated on stage.
I really enjoy sitting in a theatre and reading charts aswell.
I've got far to much gear and loads of Bass books,DVDs/Videos and magazines.

I'm also more knowledgeable about drums and drummers than most of the drummers I've met,even though I
rarely play.