Why become a member? ×

"The wife told me...."

cetera

[quote name='Gwilym' post='46588' date='Aug 16 2007, 07:54 PM']i'm sure people aren't as hen pecked as they make out. probably just an irreverant remark most of the time, and maybe a bit of sales patter if it's in a for sale thread. after all, a seller is rarely going to say "I'm selling this cos I don't like it".[/quote]

+1 A convenient reason why its a 'reluctant sale' when in fact you think the bass is a dog!

I was a musician before I was married, and my wife knows full well I always will be. If the day ever comes, and I doubt it will, that she said she was fed up with it, and it was the music or her, the music would win without a second thought. Not that I wouldn't be upset about that, but that was what she signed up for. I would not compromise on that. On gear, yes, I'd like more, who wouldn't? But we work it out sensibly. When the Squier TB came out, I just ordered it, and told her later. Wasn't a problem, and we had some time to get the cash together. She actually bought me my black Precision AND my Markbass combo! Can't say fairer than that. So, there's always room for talk.

[quote name='Dillsfretless' post='46862' date='Aug 17 2007, 02:23 PM']The wife isn't a fan of any of them, but she collects kids and I've given her 4 so far so it's a trade-off![/quote]

LMAO! :)

the [i]new man[/i], alive and well :huh:

Edited by MacDaddy

Someone earlier said that not just musicians get GAS and I must agree.
My wife gets it for anything to do with lettering (pens, ink, pencils, parchment, marble, chisels - the list goes on and on).
Of course she is also partial to the occasional pair of shoes and a handbag but normally restricts herself to no more than one of each per week.
When we flew back to Libya this week we had accumulated 125Kg of hold baggage between us and this time I did not actually get any new instruments, something of a record for me.