Why become a member? ×

Tax deductable?

Owen

If I were to spend more than I think reasonable on a pair of custom moulded in-ear headphones are they tax deductable like an instrument is, or can I get a larger percentage of the outlay back?

Just for clarification, I have self employed status.

For tax purposes, any item claimed needs to be obviously related to the nature of the work, the HMRC call it necessary and ordinary.
It could be argued that headphones for an Ipod kinda situation wouldn't be necessary but in-ear monitoring or ear protection WOULD be.
Certainly my ear plugs ARE tax deductable and I would be inclined to claim for headphones as an business accessory.

I have to add that I'm no expert as I have an accountant to do all that stuff for me.

I'm also self employed and if I were to buy them they would not be capital with a WDA (writing down allowance or percentage claim) I would claim the full amount as an expense.

Also FWIW instruments are not tax deductable in the sense in which I think you mean (correct me if I'm wrong), tax deductable as expenditure is what you spend in operating the business (i.e strings fuel costs office etc etc). Your instruments are capital investements and you are allowed 40% of their value in the year of purchase and 25% on the diminishing value in subsequent years. Thats how I understand it, the two things are in separate places on the tax return although it's arguable that it's all tax deductable

Edited by jakesbass

[quote name='jakesbass' post='471423' date='Apr 24 2009, 12:35 PM']I'm also self employed and if I were to buy them they would not be capital with a WDA (writing down allowance or percentage claim) I would claim the full amount as an expense.