Why become a member? ×

Fender Jazz - Mexican, US or Japanese?

Bidd

Right, my 21st is coming up and I'm after a decent bass guitar to replace my Washburn T14 Taurus (my first!)

Due to lack of car, and the fact that I don't live in a big city I've yet to go to a big shop (sound control etc) so I've only manage to try the very few basses in my local area, which is basically a Yammy BB414, Fender Jazz Mexican, Fender Jazz Aerodyne & a RockBass something

My question I want to ask, is to you veterans, is a US Jazz (around the 600-700 mark) worth the extra 300 quid over a Mexican Jazz. I wasn't that impressed by the Aerodyne but will it be worth the effort to try a few US Jazz's?

Also when trying basses although I've been playing for three years now I still don't actually know what to look for. I am in a blues/rock band at the moment (i think) but I also like to play pretty much any style with other students at Uni, so I'm looking for versatility.

Overall I'm useless, please help

Its definitely between Japanese and USA, i know a lot of people prefer the Japanese, but don't rule out the US ones, there are some really nice ones out there. I got a USA beauty!

Si

Edited by Sibob

From experience, all Fenders are good guitars.... (sweeping statement alert!)

Nearly all Jap Fenders (with exception maybe of the P bassLyte :) ) are very well made and play nicley. US fenders are made from lovely wood but seem to be 'thrown together' so with a little time and patience can be awesome.
Mex Fenders are pretty good but fall into 3rd place behind the other 2 for those reasons alone. QC is pretty good in all 3 bases so you would struggle to buy cr4p. But.......

As to your 'is it worth it?' question. ANY article is only what you are prepared to pay for it. You can find a relatively cheap bass that is wonderful (see my Ibanez on this forum for example) to play and look at. And on the other extreme you can spend a lot of money on what is for you a lemon.