Why become a member? ×

New Bass Lines To Learn?

bass_in_ya_face

[quote name='bass_in_ya_face' post='58305' date='Sep 10 2007, 05:06 PM']I fancy some Sly Stone stuff...any particular tracks?[/quote]
Check out Bobby Vega on Bassplayer tv. Great tracks are "Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)" and "Sing A Simple Song". Check out Essential Sly & Family Stone. A 2 CD set which includes most of the good 'uns.

[quote name='Happy Jack' post='57778' date='Sep 9 2007, 04:06 PM']3. Get a teacher! I've been playing for 18 months now. I hit a wall around Xmas, looked about, found a guy young enough to be my son but he knows what he's doing, and my technique has improved with astonishing speed[/quote]

Same happened to me, I was going nowhere but then I got a bass teacher, and now I am a hell of a lot better than I was before.

[quote name='punksoul257' post='57739' date='Sep 9 2007, 02:40 PM']Rush - YYZ

Not an intermediate song, but what a bassline.

[url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iONLKn5VHY4"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iONLKn5VHY4[/url][/quote]

I have to say i've been exploring a bit of Rush over the last couple of days and this song is pretty amazing...I knew Geddy Lee was good but this is just fabulous.

[quote name='bass_in_ya_face' post='57702' date='Sep 9 2007, 12:44 PM']I'd love to wife + kids + 20 years too late...say no :)[/quote]
It's never too late. I had a 25 year break from playing and in my former life played guitar. Will hit 60 in 2 years and started seriously playing Bass 2 years ago and now hold down the bottom end in 2 bands.
Have never enjoyed my self so much. (Retiring early may have helped :huh: )

Ditto to "it's never too late".