Why become a member? ×

Oh dear...I've got a floppy B-string...!

Guest mytilini

Guest mytilini

[font="Arial"][/font][size="2"][/size]
Evening everyone. I'm new to Basschat, but would really like some help on a 5-string I've just bought. I've been a 4-string player for too long and needed to get a 5-string for my band's new songs. So, bought a Bruce Wei Custom Shop mother-of-pearl inlaid active jobby; twin soap-bar pick-ups, active, luthier-made bone nut, 35-inch scale, through-body string-fitting bridge, etc.

Thought I'd stick to my standard Picato 735LM nickel roundwound strings in .040", .060", .075", .095" guages and add either a .115" or .120" for the bottom-B. Picato suggested the .120". I tried both, agreed that the .120" is better. My luthier did the set-up correctly, but I'm REALLY disappointed with how the low-B has turned out.

It's indistinct, floppy, not a "solid" tension and actually makes trying to pick-out the pitch of the lowest five frets' notes VERY difficult.

Any help or ideas please? Should I use heavier guage strings all round? I've been used to 34-inch scale fretted & fretless basses with those guages from the one manufacturer - I'd hate to have to change the guage of the top 4 strings, but how do I increase the tension and definition of the bottom string....? Does it matter if I have to go to, say, a .140" or above...?

I humbly await your constructive suggestions - please...! :)

is there a through body stringing option? if not I'd consider making some modifications (or having some made on your behalf) to enable that......

.... but before you do try a .130", I've never used anything lighter than a .125" and even that's generally regarded as pretty light!

beyond that I guess playing around with the pickups/preamp may be something to consider if you're not getting the full frequency range, what are you plugging it into?