Why become a member? ×

What Strings should I purchase?

Bidd

EDIT - Sorry I think i put this in wrong section of forum

I'm on the verge of joining a band in Uni, that play Blues and Funk - Hendrix, BB King, Howlin Wolf etc, and I've realised that I have yet to change the strings on my bass even though I've had it for 18 months and have been playing with stock strings since.

Basically, I've been playing a lot for the past 18 months but in bedroom, and a few half arsed jams so I've never really cared about the tone of my guitar, but I think its time to buy some decent strings. I simply do not really understand a lot of the technical side of the bass guitar, I basically read tabs and play. so I need advice badly cos I know fook all.

What strings would you more experienced lot recommend? I play a basic Washburn T14 so its hardly packs a nice tone, but because I plan to play slap and 12 bar blues type stuff, I want to treat myself to some new strings that may improve the sound. You have to forgive my stupidity as words like Roundwood or flatwood, or 105 super slinky gauge blah blah have literally zero meaning to me as I havent experimented with other basses, so please treat me like an idiot

Edited by Bidd

Hummn you are in a dilemmea arent you?

Basically Roundwounds give you a bright crisp twangy sound (Mark King) Sound brighter the newer they are.

Flatwounds sound warmer (some say dull) but IMO more applicable for blues & r'n'b (Herbie Flowers) which is what I play. Flatties buzz less and are easier on the fingers IMHO- But I re itterate may sound too dull for for your choice.

Gauges- Basically (and VERY simply) smaller the gauge the more tension they need to make the note but can be eaiser on your fingers.

45 -105 is std I use 40-100 (light guage)as do a lot of folks but, opinion is heavily divided and its a lot down to choice.