Why become a member? ×

No Pain, No Gain?

Bilbo

Some of you may recall that I have posted here reporting a bad experience with the DB and discussed some injuries I have sustained which still cause me some twinges and aches.

Well, an opportunity to try the instrument again has dropped in my lap and I wanted to hear some concensus from double bass players who have learned the instrument later in life (i.e. not a a child but as an adult learner). I am hoping to get a sense of whether I can go at this again without further difficulties or without aggravating existing issues (currently feeling quite minor). It would be my intention to get a tutor and not try and go it alone but I guess my question is, can you learn the double bass later in life without going through the pain and misery of aching limbs, bad backs and bleeding callouses :)

I'd really like to do this but am anxious that I may be making a rod for my own back. How did others fare?

I studied double bass for a couple of years (starting at the age of 27) at music college here in Birmingham but suffered with tendonitis because of the combination of double bass and also playing a 36 inch scale 5 string... I had to stop practising and only played a few sporadic gigs during that period. it affected my electric bass playing too when I'd get stabbing pains if I moved my fretting hand up the neck.

After a period of rest and wearing a splint on my left arm for months I discovered a routine of warm-ups as detailed in the book 'The Bassist's Guide to Injury Management, Prevention and Better Health' by Dr.Randall Kertz.