Why become a member? ×

First audition

Guest subaudio

Guest subaudio

Well, I have an audition Tomorrow for a new band playing double bass, I have never played double bass in a band environment, I have had lessons for about 5 months on and off and wondered if you guys have any tips or advice.

I am a veteran electric bassist with over twenty years of gigging, but the DB is a different beast altogether, so all advice gratefully received :)

In this situation the one thing you must avoid at all costs is a drink.

I used to carry a hip flask with me, but this went out of the window when I had some serious intonation issues. It didn't hit anyone though.

Seriously, I'd keep your chops simple. If it's a walking gig then keep the harmony simple, and bang the root notes down. Don't mess around too much! A couple of flashy licks here and there and you'll be laughing, you'll be in the groove and you'll be fine. If you're good, but I assume you already are hence you've got the audition...

Guest subaudio

Hi Jebo

Thanks for that mate, I may well have a few afterwards though ;0)

Yep, I think the simple idea is great advice, I'm not worried about coming up with lines so much, the material dosent call for huge walking lines or complex parts, as you say just hold the root and groove, just intonation really, so I musn't go off on one and realise I have no idea were I am, I am toying with the idea of putting some temp markers on the side of the board, not sure about that one.

Thanks again

[quote name='Jebo1' post='72236' date='Oct 10 2007, 03:57 PM']In this situation the one thing you must avoid at all costs is a drink.

I used to carry a hip flask with me, but this went out of the window when I had some serious intonation issues. It didn't hit anyone though.