Why become a member? ×

What Strings for UB

Marcus

Hi Guys,

I can't see that this topic has been covered..... apologies if it has...

I'm New to DB and am looking for some new strings for my recently acquired upright !

current strings are like tungsten rope !

looking for something with good bottom, big sound and maybe a bit less tension !

Thanks

Mark

Now that's a bit of a subject - do a search here (?) and on Talkbass, then look at Bob Gollihur's site - his summaries and prices are the best I've seen.

Any idea what's on your bass? Also, what sort of sound are you looking for? Favourite players? Double bass strings vary more in construction, sound and feel than bass guitar strings, and of course cost more so you'll want to think about this one...

I'd suggest Thomastick Spirocores or D'Addario "hybrids" as a good start, unless you're really wanting to use a bow lots.

BB

its the bass (wood) that generates/travels most of the sound, strings are important but nowhere near as important as the energy you put into them. I would suggest learning (preferably from a good tutor) how to impart energy into the string and how to stop the notes (left hand technique, not 'stopping the sound') properly. Not only will these factors make you a better, more efficient player, they will prevent possible injury which is easy to acquire on double bass when playing with poor technique.
Innovation produce some good low tension strings. I have a set of silver slap on my B bass which is good for a thumpy sound with lots of bottom.
hope thats useful
Jake

Edited by jakesbass

[quote name='BassBod' post='73466' date='Oct 12 2007, 05:10 PM']Now that's a bit of a subject - do a search here (?) and on Talkbass, then look at Bob Gollihur's site - his summaries and prices are the best I've seen.