Why become a member? ×

String Gauges for Metal

Guest MoJo

Firstly let me point out that I'm no wet-behind-the-ear newbie. I have been playing bass for 27 years. Brought up on a diet of Maiden, Rush, Sabbath, Scorpions, Dio etc..etc... Now at an age where I ought to know better, I have been given the opportunity to play in a metal band which includes in it's set covers by Disturbed and Killswitch Engage. Now I believe that Mike D'Antonio of KSE tunes his Ibanez SRX700 to CGCF and John Moyer of Disturbed tunes his 5 string Musicman ACGCF

Have any Metalheads on here used these tunings and if so, what gauges did you use to maintain good string tension? I'm kind of guessing that you'd need a .135" to go down to A, a .120" or .110" for the C, a .095" or .090" for the G, a .075" for the C and a .050" for the F.

I have tried playing the songs on my BEADG strung 5 string but in a song like Stricken by Disturbed it's a damned sight easier to play the main riff on string tuned to open C. I could just tune my B up to a C or for other songs, my E down to a D but it's far from ideal. I'd rather have my bass set up in the new tuning and use my other bass, strung EADG to play the songs that don't require tuning down.

I'd appreciate your comments

Rock a phat one dude! (Pun totally intended.)

What are the guits doing? You may find that you won't be using the 'as recorded' tunings as it'd mean that you end up all over the shop depending on what you might be covering. Speak to the guitards and see if they're settling on some kind of happy medium tunings that the singer is happy with in terms of range on the covers.