Why become a member? ×

DIY Effects

JackLondon

Finished my Idiotbox Blowerbox clone today. I put an extra switch on it for a 'low gain' setting too… It's the first time I've gone for a 'Rat' based dirt box, as I've always been a Muff sort of guy, but I'm loving it. :)

No laughing now! :lol:

Probably another dumbass request for help - I've got a free evening so thought i'd get on and replace the 3PDT switch on my Grey Stache - so I've taken the back off the pedal and photographed where the wires go etc but my question relates to the orientation of the new switch, I was thinking (wrongly I reckon) that this should be a fairly straight-forward operation, I'm now concerned I could mount the switch 180 degrees out and potentially cause all sorts of problems - I'm a total noob to DIY electronics as you've probably guessed! Given there are 9 pins and no markings whatsoever to give me a clue I thought I'd ask you very kind souls for some advice.

Perhaps I should find a local electronics engineer and trust the job to him/her? :unsure: :blush: :(

The switch should be arranged so that the terminals/lugs look horizontal.
This is only really for the wiring really, so you can follow diagrams. Once wired, the orientation doesn't really matter......although usually your wires should be short enough that you can't really spin it round.

Si

Cheers Si, I knew this would be kinda tricky to explain, the old switch has the pins mounted vertically and I suppose what I mean is that the pin currently mounted in the top left corner is wired to the input jack (the shorter terminal on the jack), I guess what I'm trying to get at is if the switch is mounted in the casing 180 degrees out, the top left pin on the switch would now be bottom right, so I'm concerned (as i don't really understand how the switch works) whether i could cause damage/further problems with the pedal.