Why become a member? ×

Double Bass Buying Guide

bassbloke

In a sensitive unamplified trio situation, or a solo recital you 100% could hear the difference. In an amplified situation with some noisy brass or guitars or somesuch - a £500 bass would not sound 100 times worse than a £50K bass - and the tone is as much to do with your pick-up and rig as your bass.

So, to summarise - a more expensive bass, with the right strings for your style and well set-up is lusher than a lush thing, however, a cheap bass with the right strings for your style and well set-up, while not being as lush as a more expensive one, it is not necessarily un-lush.

Ahhhhhhh I can feel a virtual hug coming on :) Feel the love people!

[quote name='jakesbass' post='155203' date='Mar 11 2008, 11:46 AM']For what its worth I've been playing Double for 27 years professionally for 17 and I've had similar experiences regarding buying and selling as you. As it happens, I agree with most of your post and in fact I think the pricing by dealers is bordering on criminal, is not based on demand as they have lots of them stockpiled and in many cases can't shift them, and it serves as a bar to young players getting started on something decent. The only point at which I think its worth having a high financial value on a bass is to make people look after them so they last a long time, we are after all, only temporary keepers, not owners.
Cheaper basses [i]are[/i] getting better but they don't compare to hand carved instruments, (I've played basses from £250-£50,000) and I don't agree about people not being able to tell the difference. They may not really notice if your tone is average or below, but they [i]do[/i] notice if its enourmous and lovely sounding.