Why become a member? ×

When is good, good enough??

I've been playing bass for two years now, and although I'm no Stanley Clarke, I wouldn't be fazed if anyone here turned up at one of our gigs. I'm taking lessons and practice for about an hour every day and I think I've got to a reasonable standard but then I see this (posted elsewhere on here by a fellow BCer)

[url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6wG71TR2_0"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6wG71TR2_0[/url]

...and I am genuinely astounded by the dexterity and musicianship. Then I think to myself..'if I keep the lessons up and practice hard, maybe one day...'. But then reality sets in - I'll never be that good on bass, cos if I'm honest with myself, I don't really aspire to it. I'm happy just fumbling away on a Saturday night and going home with £60 in my back pocket stinking of smoke.

How good do you want to be?

• Like 2

Good post mate! Well.. I'm really driven by seeing other players just 'doing great bass' whatever it may be. I want to be as good as I can I guess. I saw this young lad doing amazing fretless a while back.. I wanted to grab a fretless and copy him straight away! So, I guess as long as there are musicians (not just bass) doing stuff that gets me interested.. then I'll keep wanting to learn more. I'll never be 'good enough'. There's always going to be someone doing 'cool stuff' on bass.

[quote name='niceguyhomer' post='9167' date='May 30 2007, 01:29 PM']I've been playing bass for two years now, and although I'm no Stanley Clarke, I wouldn't be fazed if anyone here turned up at one of our gigs. I'm taking lessons and practice for about an hour every day and I think I've got to a reasonable standard but then I see this (posted elsewhere on here by a fellow BCer)

[url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6wG71TR2_0"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6wG71TR2_0[/url]