Why become a member? ×

Axe for life

Gilbert

I've been playing bass for 13 years and guitar for 17 years. I have my guitar sorted, I play acoustic only and own a Epiphone Masterbilt which I love.
However, I am finally in a position to buy a high end bass, one that I will want to keep for life.

I have worked on a small budget for so long having various low end and mid range bass guitars but never falling in love.

My first bass was a Tanglewood Rebel, was OK, did loads of gigs and recordings until the electrics started playing up and I retired it.

Then I got an Epiphone P bass, again was OK, pups loud and clear, but sold it to raise funds for my next bass.

Third bass was a Ibanez sr300 pearl white, had a really good tone range with the soundgear style sweeper active pups, super fast thin neck. Did many gigs and recording with this, but I never quite fell in love with it, so after a year I sold it!

Fourth bass and the one I own at present is a Ibanez artcore AGB200 brown semi. OK I admit I was bowled over by it's looks and this is actually a very good bass with a very nice tone, powerful enough pups, and easy to play with the short scale neck. I really like it but I still want more.....

I also own a Crafter BA 400 EQ fretless on which I use roto trubass black nylon strings and use for home recording. I get pretty close to a upright bass sound in the mix and I'm happy with that. But it doesn't get anywhere close to competing with acoustic guitars in a jam, which is a disapointment, but as far as I'm aware, not many acoustic basses do, which seems like a waste of time owning one if you got to plug it in anyway. (Forgive me if I'm wrong and tell me the acoustic bass that does cut it please!)

Any how,

I'm thinking about a fender jazz american standard. You always see fenders used when you see live pro bands and most of my fav bass players use the jazz bass. Maybe that's the sound I've always desired.