Why become a member? ×

Recording bass onto my MacBook - what do I need to get started?

Gunsfreddy2003

I want to start recording basslines at home and also adding to tracks sent to me by my bandmates - I have Macbook with Garageband on it. Is the best program to use and if so what is the most cost effective/best sounding way to record digitally?

I am new to all of this stuff and am not really sure where to start!

some people say that for decent results you need a dedicated firewire/usb preamp but the soundcards on macbook and imacs are pretty good imo. I (and people that i've worked with) have gotten really good (well as good as di can get) results just using a preamp straight into the line in. if you have an amp that you like that has a di out then a di to jack cable would work (with a mini jack addapter) otherwise any preamp would do really.

Thanks for your post - I have a Mark Bass Little Mark III so sure that I can take the DI from that - if not what kind of preamp do people use?

Silly question but where is the line in on the MacBook is it the socket next to the headphones out?

[quote name='Colledge' post='976317' date='Oct 3 2010, 07:18 PM']some people say that for decent results you need a dedicated firewire/usb preamp but the soundcards on macbook and imacs are pretty good imo. I (and people that i've worked with) have gotten really good (well as good as di can get) results just using a preamp straight into the line in. if you have an amp that you like that has a di out then a di to jack cable would work (with a mini jack addapter) otherwise any preamp would do really.[/quote]