Why become a member? ×

I've forgotten how to play

krth1985

So last nights gig - decent venue, good sized crowd, tempremental PA system, but we managed to get a decent sound out from it. Half way through the first song i fell on my arse. I started playing wrong notes, wrong songs, became really sloppy and even managed to balls up the very last note of the last song! :)

Anyone else have an experience like this before?

[quote name='BottomE' post='1142436' date='Feb 26 2011, 03:59 PM']Ouch - not for a long time. What happened? Was it drug/booze related or was it nerves or unfamiliarity of band and material?[/quote]

Just the usual couple of pints before hand. All well rehearsed material, everyone else was fine, just me. Major knock to my confidence :)

I've only played badly when I've drunk too much. Never any other reason if the set is rehearsed up. Sadly it's a lesson I seem to have to relearn with each & every band I join rather than just default back to the original lesson from my teens first time round. At least it's only once per band I join!

[quote name='RAY AGAINST THE MACHINE' post='1142735' date='Feb 26 2011, 07:51 PM']Yeah,been there.We all have ,haven't we? :) Don't fret too much about it. You'll probably be flawless for a few gigs after that one.[/quote]
+1

There aint a musician on the planet who hasn't had a bad gig.

[quote name='Blademan_98' post='1142720' date='Feb 26 2011, 07:38 PM']I once started a gig (on guitar) with a capo in the wrong position.

I threw me out all evening :)[/quote]

Not a capo problem, but very similar. Our singer decided to play a harmonica solo on a new song for the first time (he'd not been playing for long but it was a simple piece). We had rehearsed the song in A a fair bit and all was well.