Why become a member? ×

Learning Structure.

gazzer86

Hi all.

I am very much a newbie bass player. I've been playing for a couple of months now and have learnt about 7 or 8 simple songs. I have to date been teaching myself, with reasonable success. Can you more experienced players advise me of any particular learning structure that I could adopt in order that I can progress and fully understand what I am playing. Any recommended books, DVDs or courses? Or should I get a few or regular lessons from a teacher. Ideally, I would like to be in a position where I could play reasonably competently within say 12 months so I could play with other musicians.

Thanks for your help.

Gary

[quote name='gazzer86' post='1274535' date='Jun 19 2011, 11:11 AM']Hi all.

I am very much a newbie bass player. I've been playing for a couple of months now and have learnt about 7 or 8 simple songs. I have to date been teaching myself, with reasonable success. Can you more experienced players advise me of any particular learning structure that I could adopt in order that I can progress and fully understand what I am playing. Any recommended books, DVDs or courses? Or should I get a few or regular lessons from a teacher. Ideally, I would like to be in a position where I could play reasonably competently within say 12 months so I could play with other musicians.

Thanks for your help.

Gary[/quote]

Any advice anyone? It would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gary

It is always difficult to offer a learning plan if you don't know the player. Mine would be different to yours because our learning goals would probably be very different. If you really want a steer, I would recommend a teacher. If you tell us where you are, we can probably recommend someone off here.

In the meantime, learn to read music :)

[quote name='mcgraham' post='1275743' date='Jun 20 2011, 11:46 AM']Sorry Bilbo, I didn't quite catch that... could you say again for the avoidance of doubt?[/quote]