Why become a member? ×

Simple recording from the desk

solo4652

Hi folks,

On Saturday, my band's at a local festival where there is a hired-in PA, backline and Sound Technician. I'm wondering whether this is a good opportunity to get some decent recordings done.

Now, go easy on me please - I have NO experience whatsoever of recording or mixing, and I'm not brilliant with IT in general. So, is there a real easy way we could take some sort of output from the mixing desk and capture it?

Steve

Hi Steve, yes there are loads of simple solutions.
It does depend on the desk being used though, and you need to ask the engineer nicely because they don`t usually like the extra hassle.
First, if the desk has unused aux outs, then a stereo pair can be sent to your laptop/minidisk whatever recorder, or if the desk has a Matrix out section, it will be very easy to take a stereo line from that too.
Take lots of cables and adapters to suit your recorder. A decent desk will usually have 1/4" jack outs for matrix and xlr for auxes.The engineer will apreiciate you not making him look for cables!
If at all possible, try to contact him before the show, and discuss it, he`ll know what to expect then, but if thats not possible, get to him as soon as you can when you arrive, so he has time to prepare.
Be aware that a desk recording will not provide a balanced mix, but will favour things that are quiet onstage, and wont perhaps have so much guitars that are loud etc. reverbs and other FX are usually louder than preferred also.
MM

[quote name='Monckyman' post='1323406' date='Aug 1 2011, 07:10 PM']Hi Steve, yes there are loads of simple solutions.
It does depend on the desk being used though, and you need to ask the engineer nicely because they don`t usually like the extra hassle.