Why become a member? ×

Bluegrass Bass - Message from Mike Bub

bgbass

We have just received this from top Nashville acoustic bassist Mike Bub:

It is a great pleasure to be asked to participate in this year's Transatlantic Bluegrass School being held in Wales May 7-11. As a traveling road musician I relish the idea of staying in one place for a week of fellowship and skill sharpening. As a musician I have mainly stayed in the more traditional area of Bluegrass. I will provide some insight on how to use various techniques that create the unique rhythmic foundation of traditional bluegrass. My main influences down through the years have been folks like Jerry McCoury, Roy Huskey Jr., Jake Tullock and Bob Moore all the way to the schooled playing of folks like Ray Brown and Milt Hinton. I have picked up a few things as well from some of my contemperaries such as Missy Raines, Bryn Davies, Todd Phillips, Dave Pomeroy, Dennis Crouch and Mark Schatz, among others. Having traveled and recorded for the last twenty years with the likes of Weary Hearts, Del McCoury Band, Bill Monroe, Peter Rowan, Tony Rice, Dale Ann Bradley, The Osborne Bros., Jesse McReynolds and many others, there is a wealth of experience to assist aspiring bassists.