Why become a member? ×

Matching a vintage valve amp with a modern cab

Happy Jack

I have an early 70's WEM Dominator 25 combo, all valve of course, and great tone - just not enough volume for modern gigs.

I'm looking into introducing a switchable socket that would allow me to choose whether to run the amp through the on-board Rola Celestion 15" or into an external cab, most probably a Barefaced Compact.

The on-board Celestion is rated at 15 Ohms, the Compact is 8 Ohms.

Do I have a problem?

If so, is there an easy solution?

Unless you know for a fact that the WEM will work at 8 Ohms then, yes, you have a problem. I'm not a big expert on valve amps but I seem to recall that they are much fussier about the output impedance than transistor amps (another reason valve amps are a bad idea, but lets not go there :) ).

The only thing you can do is to get another 8 ohm cab and run them in series. This gives you 16ohms which will do. However, you will need a weird cable and the end result will probably be rubbish.

It will probably work into 8 ohms, but it won't be ideal, the most destructive mismatch is much further mismatched, and mismatched the other way, high impedance cab, or no cab at all. Too low impedance is just tone trouble, and you may like the tone just fine. Easiest mode is put a socket on the amp and a lead on the speaker, or another socket, so you can choose internal speaker of external with your plugging. Just make sure you don't choose neither.

Why not just wire an 8Ω 25W resistor in series with your new output socket to fool the amp into seeing 16Ω?
A 1Ω difference is nothing in the big scheme of things. :)

Use one of the switchable sockets so you disconnect the internal speaker as you push the plug in just to be on the safe side.

[quote name='icastle' timestamp='1325192378' post='1480860']
Why not just wire an 8Ω 25W resistor in series with your new output socket to fool the amp into seeing 16Ω?