Why become a member? ×

condenser mic and preamp

shank

Hello all!

I am new to the game of double bass, and I managed to get one off a friend (which turns out to be the one that sat in the corner of the music room when I was in school), and now I am in a band and I really love playing the bass!

The problem comes to getting a decent noise out of the thing!

I have borrowed from a friend an SD Systems LCM 100 condenser mic and preamp for the bass, which is fantastic. But from my research it is an expensive bit of gear!

I was wondering if anybody else has or does use a cheaper combination of condenser mic and preamp to play their bass live? I did buy a cheap set of piezo pickups from ebay a while ago which do pickup, but compared to the mic/preamp combo I don't want to go back!

Also do the live players prefer using a bass amp, or going right through the PA? There are so many options!

Any replies are greatly appreciated!!

Thanks a lot

Shank.

Edited by shank

From what folks have said on here, I imagine very few use a mic live. Too many feedback problems.

As for piezo pickups, the only answer seems to be a lengthy and expensive process of trial and error to find something that suits your particular bass.

On the PA side, again I think most people feel a need to have the option of independent amplification, and even with the pa you'd need some monitoring.

Good luck with the never-ending quest. :)

Edited by fatback

Welcome to the club .