Why become a member? ×

Piezo pups and my new Superlight

Walker

Hello,
I've just recieved the Bespoke Basses Superlight that I bought from slobluesine and must admit, I'm pretty impressed after the initial couple of hours I have spent with it. It's exceeded all expectations so far.

At the moment, it has a Kent Armstrong mag pup (that I want to retain) but I would also like to try a piezo pup.

I'm totally new to upright so please bear with me! As this doesnt have a sound box, do I need to look at special piezo pups or could I use a Shadow SH950 or SH965 NFX?

Would it be best to use a bridge mounted pup or something that goes under the feet of the bridge?

Actually, thinking about it - will the piezo give me a different tone to the mag anyway?

I suppose it boils down to the fact that I'm unsure of how piezo pups work - does the fundamental difference between my Superlight and a 'real' upright make a difference to pup choice or doesnt the sound box have a role to play if going through a pup?

Thank you and sorry for this 'brain dump' post!

Chris

I use the Shadow SH950 on my acoustic upright and it gives a very true representation of the acoustic sound. I've also used the Realist (which packed in too quickly) and the Fishman BP100 (not the best of sounds and certainly not good for bowing). The Shadow is very easy to fit as it just slots in between the wings of the bridge. I had to slip in some veneers of wood to give a tight enough fit but that was no problem.

As long as your bridge vibrates with the strings any piezo will do the job. I have a Baby Bass which is effectively a foam-filled EUB in the shape of a downsized DB and the previous owner (Mr_Bassman aka Keith) wedged a Revolution Solo pickup in the bridge assembly http://www.uptonbass.com/Double-Bass-Pickup-Revolution-SOLO-II-RS2/ Its very similar to a Shadow but enclosed in wood and does the job well