Why become a member? ×

Choosing a double bass

rsk289

How do you choose the right size bass?
I've been playing orchestral bass trombone for around 40 years (mid-50s now), but the lip's beginning to fade and I fancy a change. Always fancied the bass as an orchestral instrument, and I have some knowledge of string technique as I started out on violin and used to lead the County Youth.
I'm 5' 8", arms a bit on the short side, medium-size hands for a bloke - any pointers?

As far as height/instrument size goes - I'm 5'9" with small hands and a 3/4 size (which is the most common you'll come across) is plenty fine for me.

Good thing to do if you can is to get in touch with your local education board, see if they have a music service nearby and go along to try out what they have. My local has a good variety from 1/8th to 4/4 sizes.

Thanks for the advice - very helpful and encouraging!
I'm currently trying out a Martin 'Concert 4/4', which I picked out of a bunch as I really like the sound (could be the trombone player in me...), but I think this may be too big. I need to break myself into it gently and give it a couple of weeks to get a better feel.
Bit confused about this - the label in the Martin says it's a Concert 4/4, but the free string length is 41.5", and the body height is around 45". I don't think this is full 4/4, is it?

Bass sizes are not that 'defined'. A 3/4 can be between x and y in length and can cross into other sizes (you will see adds for a 'small 3/4 size' or a 'large 3/4 size'. Stay away from a half size bass; they tend to be for young students only and will not be credible in a professional setting etc. But 3/4 is the default size for most jazzers and other secular musics. Larger basses tend to be used to be used for orchestral work but nothing is set in stone as some jazzers play 7/8 basses. But, the straight answer to your question is; try 3/4 size.

[quote name='rsk289' timestamp='1331547631' post='1574370']