Why become a member? ×

Filling the gaps......

TRBboy

Looking for some advice from those with a superior theoretical background really.....

I've been playing for about 16 years or so, and used to have lessons in my teens, although I had little or no interest in the theory side of things then! I've mainly been in original and covers rock bands, but I've also been involved in various other live and studio projects. I blagged it on DB for 2 weeks at sixth form college (before the MD realised I couldn't read the music!), and I played in the pit band for professional pantomimes a couple of years on the trot.

My teacher used to say I'm a very intuitive player, and that a lot of it comes to me naturally. If I'm put on the spot, I can hear what I want to play, and usually make it happen, BUT I have to play around for a bit to find it. I would really like to further myself now and be able to get there pretty much instantly. Does anyone have any suggestions about what I should do? I know lessons would be best, but I can't afford it, and know most of the local teachers and don't really feel that there's anyone who could take me to where I want to be. I guess I probably need to improve my chord/scale/mode knowledge, so can anyone recommend any good learning materials? DVDs or books would be fine, although I don't really read music.

Thanks for your help!

First job...learn to read,then you can take advantage of all the study material that is available. There is no point recommending
any books if you don't know how to read the exercises in them.Otherwise you need a teacher to explain it all to you-and any
good teacher should be writing down what they teach you so that you can continue to study when the lesson is over.
I think understanding chord tones is very important,as generally you will use them more than scales-although you should
also know scales so you can see where the chords are derived from. You can look at things like scales and chord tones as fingering