Why become a member? ×

Noob - Hello

aende

And a Happy New year

So, why am I here?

I am an ex pro guitar player.....alright, I only had 2 pro tours, but they were big...for a boy band....lets leave it there!

Anyway, I have always 'toyed' with bass and find it a fascinating instument to groove on. Unfiortunately, I play bass the way I play guitar - something I am trying to change as time goes by...IMHO guitar players make bad bassists....but I am keen to re-learn.

My guitar equipment has all gone now due to space, kids and so on - so, I am keeping bass kit on the light and mobile side. My guitar amp collection included some beautful vintage amps and a some vintage guitars which, when auctioned payed for nearly half of my house!

I am playing bass in a covers band at the moment, just keeping it simply clone playing, but enjoying the groove and the power in the rythm section.

My favourite Bassists; tough choice really, but I like Peter Cetera, Fieldy, Flea and a guy I saw play at Cafe Wha! in NYC, he was very cool and played with such a relaxed style. My favourite guitar player was Terry Kath.

I already own a German built Warwick Corvette bass and now own an Ashdown Superfly amp. Should be enough to start with! I am lucky enough that my father in law has played bass for 40 years + and has a plethora of vintage basses inclusing a '60's Thunderbird, '68 EB1 and a '67 Rivoli along with a classic Ampeg SVT 350 + cabs...I am borrowing a cab from him at the moment!

Anyway, I could do with cab advice - the Superfly cabs are not made anymore but I need 4 ohm 2 x 10 - are there any that are factory built? I could buy an old cab a reload and re-wire, but I don't want to go down that route unless I have to!

Any advice on settings on the superfly would be great too.

Welcome noob?

I couldnt tell you anything useful about those cabs but if you post your questions here [url="http://basschat.co.uk/forum/5-amps-and-cabs/"]http://basschat.co.uk/forum/5-amps-and-cabs/[/url]