Why become a member? ×

Headstock reshaping/neck refinishing - help!

Mylkinut

Hi all,

I've been given one of those 'build your own bass' kits by my family for Christmas - brilliant present, but I'm a bit stuck when it comes to the woodworking. I'm completely new to anything like this, so forgive my silly questions :)

So, the headstock comes as a blank so you can shape your own, and I've gone for a '51 P-style affair. I've just had it back from a mate who owns a jigsaw and it looks grand.

However, where the wood's been cut it's come out bright white compared to the rest of the neck. I wasn't expecting this as it felt unfinished (and it says so on the box), but I guess it is. To be fair I only own basses with gloss or painted necks, so unfinished and light finish all feels the same to me...

I was planning give it a gloss finish like my old P Bass, but if I do so now it'll look mismatched.. which brings another question - would I be able to to spray the gloss straight over the satin-y finish it has now, or do I have to sand it off first? If so, with what?

Also, if I decide to keep it how it is, what should I finish the newly-sawn bits with? Would oiling it darken the colour to match what's already there?

I probably haven't been that clear, so here are some pictures to show what I'm on about :)

Thanks for any help chaps

Yes, oiling it will darken it to a certain extent. There's no guarantee that it will match the existing finish, as it could just be a bit aged, ie darkened due to exposure to light.
If you want to gloss it, I'd advise against oiling it anyway.

I'd say you have several options, in descending order of effort:

- sand the lot so that the colour is uniform, then lacquer as planned. This will give the best results. If you like the darker colour, use a tinted lacquer.

- add some dye to get a matching finish on the pale bits (experiment with some of the off cuts) then lacquer